The Ten Commandments

See the source image


Christ – through the example of his own life and by his preaching – attested to the permanent validity of the Ten Commandments.  The Decalogue contains a privileged expression of the natural law.  It is made known to us by divine revelation and by human reason.
  1.  I am the Lord your God: you shall not have strange gods before me.
  2. You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.
  3. Remember to keep holy the Lord’s Day.
  4. Honor your father and your mother.
  5. You shall not kill.
  6. You shall not commit adultery.
  7. You shall not steal.
  8. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
  9. You shall not covet your neighbor’s wife.
  10. You shall not covet your neighbor’s goods.